376 of 384 Illinois associate judges reappointed, 20th Circuit judge not retained

SPRINGFIELD — In the latest reappointment poll by the Illinois State Bar Association, 375 Illinois Associate Judges have been reappointed for another four years, but eight judges were dismissed, after receiving approval ratings too low for retention.
In the Fourth Judicial Circuit, which includes Christian, Clay, Clinton, Effingham, Fayette, Jasper, Marion, Montgomery and Shelby counties, all four associate judges were reappointed, with one retiring.
All associate judges in the Second Circuit, were retained. They preside over courts in Crawford, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jefferson, Lawrence, Richland, Wabash, Wayne and White counties.
But in the 20th Judicial Circuit, which includes Monroe, Perry, Randolph, St. Clair and Washington counties, Judge Laninya Cason was not retained.
Judge Cason received a 45.83 in the category of “meets requirements of office” – the lowest score of all 13 associate judges in the 20th circuit. She was the only judge in the circuit not recommended for retention.
In addition to Cason, five associate judges in the Third Judicial Circuit, one in the Sixth Judicial Circuit, and one in the Twelfth Judicial Circuit and did not receive the requisite number of votes for reappointment.
The reappointment election of associate judges is held every four years and is accomplished through the casting of secret ballots by circuit court judges eligible to vote.