Local agencies to receive IEMA grants for disaster response efforts

ILLINOIS — Grants totaling $4 million awarded by the Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA) will help 120 accredited city and county emergency management agencies throughout Illinois support local disaster preparedness and response efforts, including a few local agencies.


The Emergency Management Performance Grants (EMPG) are funded through a grant IEMA receives from the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

The City of Centralia will receive nearly $5,500, the City of Mt. Vernon will receive more than $17,300, the City of Salem will receive more than $10,600, and the City of Flora will receive nearly $7,670.

Clinton County will receive nearly $21,770, Clay County will receive nearly $14,850, and Fayette County nearly $18,700. Jefferson County will receive almost $19,000, Marion County will receive nearly $18,600, and Washington County will receive more than $17,200.

The grants, which are awarded annually, can be used for day-to-day operations of local emergency preparedness and response programs. Award amounts were determined by a base amount plus population-based formula prescribed by administrative rule.